Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I wrote this over a month ago so it is old news. Not the happiest of stories to begin with but it has a happy ending.

Venezia, How do I love thee, let me count the ways...

Venezia, How do I love thee, let me count the ways…

 

It’s nights like tonight that I truly believe in the power of the universe… I had a very bad experience the other night with a person I thought was my friend. He got extremely drunk and then decided he was going to play baseball with his keys and my face. Luckily for me I’m quick and managed to dodge that stupidity. Finding myself and my dog without a place to stay, I got on the next water taxi (at 12 a.m. no less) from Murano to Venice thinking I could just wait at the train station all night until I could change my reservation and hop on the next train home. As I sat, stupefied, at the vaporetto stop, I started crying. And then I couldn’t stop crying. All I could picture in my head was my dad saying to me, “Michelle, why do you get yourself into these situations??” I am too old for this shit but I trusted that this person was going to be stand up and not turn into a total creep, we have mutual friends for Gods sake! As sat staring at Shane and contemplated being stuck in Venice without a place to go, the nicest person I’ve ever met in my life came up to me and asked me why I was crying. I gave him a quick explanation and he took pity on me my and my little dog and brought us to his restaurant that he had just closed for the night. He offered me a glass of water and his bathroom so I could collect myself. He then called his wife and offered me a place to stay, their home at first but we decided that because he had a big dog it might not be safe for Shane. So, he called his buddy, and Voila! Shane and I had a place to stay. When we got to “Alessandro’s” apartment, he could see that I was a psychological nightmare and offered up his room. I fell asleep immediately.

A Room With A View...

A Room With A View…

 

 

Did anyone say prosecco??

Did anyone say prosecco??

The next morning, Alessandro gently tapped on the door and brought me a coffee. We talked for a few minutes and when he realized that I wasn’t some insane loon his friend found on the street. He told me to not let the night before make my trip a bad memory and why didn’t I just stay with him for the time being until I could take the train home.  He also happened to have the day off and offered to take me around Venice with his friends. We went to a bar and drank entirely too much Prosecco and then he took me to this awesome little restaurant tucked away where there were no tourists!

Rocker...

Rocker…

The food was great and we ate like royalty. After all that food we ended up walking around the canals and chatting and just having a really nice day.

See Food

See Food

 

Mt new fav Venetian hideyhole

Mt new fav Venetian hideyhole

We eventually ended up back at the restaurant that his friend owned. I needed to tell him thank you for all his help the night before. I would love to mention the name on this post but unfortunately the guy from the beginning of this story has become somewhat of an internet stalker and I haven’t found a way to block him from this site (any suggestions would be great….) So, in order to protect the innocently helpful, if you want to know the the name of the restaurant you can go to my FB page and ask for it there. In the meantime, I am grateful for many things from that night, but mostly for having made some new friends from an unfortunate situation. Ask for good things in this life and they will be granted….

How could anyone not love Venice?

How could anyone not love Venice?

Murano

Murano

A banner for an exposition at the Piazza San Marco, I found this very humorous

A banner for an exposition at the Piazza San Marco, I found this very humorous

Aperol Spritz Please

Aperol Spritz Please

DSCN1805

Let Me In I Need To Pray!!!

Let Me In I Need To Pray!!!

The British side of the Cimeterio

The British side of the Cimeterio

Fresca

Fresca

