Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Autumn on the Arno

Autumn on the Arno

What a year last year was! They always seem to go so fast. Just when you get used to writing the date and figuring out that all your clothes are from last season and you start getting some ‘cute’ new stuff, BLAM! The door of that year slams in your face and another year starts. Last year was tough on me. For the record the past few years have been tough on me. But I think they were tough on everyone. Rich or Poor. My year was full of a lot of really bad mistakes, completely and utterly all my own fault by poorly made choices. I had to learn how to let go… of a lot. Some of my friends, being the hardest. But, sometimes you need to let go in order to grow. This sounds so cliche coming from me… if you know me, but it is true. My grandmother used to tell me that you should only be able to count your friends on one hand, that the rest are acquaintances. And that you know you have too much ‘stuff’ if you can’t carry it on your own back. She was a pretty smart lady, but she didn’t live in the 21st century either. I can count my close friends on two hands and maybe one foot, I’m a lucky girl. And my ‘stuff’ fits nicely in a 20’x10′ storage unit I share with my Mom. Unfortunately, I still had to deal with my own head. I certainly couldn’t put that nightmare in a locker and believe me I wish I could’ve. So, I decided to move to Italy for a year and learn Italian. By the time I post this I will have been living in Florence around three month’s time.

The Rape of the Sabine's in the Loggia dei Lanzi

The Rape of the Sabine’s in the Loggia dei Lanzi

I started this post on a different blog that was about my job initially. I was fired from said job and I got so damn depressed I just quit life all together, I literally sat in my apartment doing nothing. Then I got the crazy notion to move to Italy. I blame this solely on my BFF Petra and her husband. (And maybe a little on the book, Under the Tuscan Sun.) I think they were so sick of my miserable ass they needed me to leave. I packed up all my belongings put them in that 20’x10′, packed my blind dog, Shane in a carry-on doggie crate and bought a ticket.  Now I am living in Firenze, Italia learning La Bella Lingua. So, consequently, I want this blog to be happy. Not so much happy but as enjoyable for everyone as I can possibly make it.

Christmas Lights in the Piazza della Repubblica

Christmas Lights in the Piazza della Repubblica

Moving your life to a foreign country is difficult. Visiting a country where they don’t speak your native language as the norm, (mine being American English) is difficult. But… moving to a country to learn the native language is a bitch! Especially if you didn’t use your Rosetta Stone CD’s. If anyone had told me how difficult the Italian language would be to learn, I seriously doubt I would have come here. I can barely speak my own language well, as many of my professors have told me, ad nauseam. I literally only knew the words Grazie, Buongiorno and Ciao when I moved here. I am currently enrolled at a school that teaches in Italian, and only Italian! They refuse, most of the time to speak in English. It is MOLTO DIFICILE! And, you get to learn grammar all over again. Do you remember your grammar lessons from 5-7th grades?? Well I don’t. I can honestly say that I have no freaking idea what a reflexive pro-noun is?. Or, how about a Present Sub-junctive Verb? Do you even know what a Sub-junctive verb is used for??? Until now, I probably never even cared either. But I care now! It matters. Everything sentence structure part of grammar matters! I am getting off track here and Italian grammar is a story for another post…

Damn Dante and His Infernal Internal Inferno!

Damn Dante and His Infernal Internal Inferno!

I have had some amazing ups and some really low downs since moving here too. Not a single book or blog I’ve found bothers to mention how (REALLY) expensive it is to live here. Or many of the strange things you need to know before coming here. Such as how to actually rent an apartment. I’m doing this all by trial and error and I have made some HUGE mistakes that have cost me a lot of money and time. I hope that some of you find this useful or can show it to someone who is considering a move like this or maybe considering a semester abroad. I’m a pretty candid girl so I’m sure this blog won’t be to everyone’s taste, and I’m sure I’ll piss off an Italian or two along the way. I hardly come from the perfect country, no America, apparently it’s not you sweetie apple-pie. It’s Norway. I’ve been told that by several people here. I am NOT going to Norway, it’s cold enough here!

Santa Croce from the top of the Campanile di Giotto, 416 very steep stairs and some very loud bells!

Santa Croce from the top of the Campanile di Giotto, 416 very steep stairs and some very loud bells!

I promise to put some great pictures up along with possibly some not so great one’s. There is a lot to write about in Florence. And a lot to eat and drink! My plan is to dazzle (and perhaps disgust) you all with everything I possibly can, while I stroll and stumble through this next year.

My Friends Jim and Kat were in Firenze at the Duomo the first week I arrived. What a surprise! Along with the two Alessio's, Florentine friends.

My Friends Jim and Kat were in Firenze the first week I arrived. What a surprise! Along with the two Alessio’s, Florentine friends. At the Duomo.

I’m finding myself, Y’all!

Stay tuned for New Years Eve Insanity!

